Culinary School Over 40

I am over 40 years old, and my previous cooking experience consists of burning almost everything and under-cooking the rest. I want to tell better-informed food and travel stories while also cooking more at home. I decided, what the heck, let’s give Culinary School a try even though I can’t even slice a tomato. Here is my journal of this somewhat crazy endeavor:

The Local with Matt Biggers
I’m Over 40 and Going to Culinary School, Pt. 1
The alarm goes off, but I do not hear it as I wear ear plugs to drown out my snoring, sleep apnea’s siren song that brings immeasurable joy to my wife. It finally wakes me up when the volume reaches …
Read more
The Local with Matt Biggers
Are These Clown Pants Necessary? - Culinary School Over 40 Pt. 2
In case you missed it, I am over 40 and going to Culinary School. My previous cooking experience consists of burning grilled cheese sandwiches and seasoning overdone chicken breasts with my tears. I …
Read more
The Local with Matt Biggers
Broken Sauce and Broken Dreams — Culinary School Over 40, Pt. 3
Dicing carrots, making toast, and pouring myself a glass of water were all considered outside of my culinary skill set. The logical thing to do would be to stay out of the kitchen, offering words of …
Read more
The Local with Matt Biggers
Will Grilled Cheese Cure Your Melancholy? - Culinary School Over 40, Pt. 4
I am closer to 45 than 40 years old and have been a pariah in my own kitchen for my entire life. My pots and pans call out in anguish as I abuse them, scraping their innards with metallic utensils, a…
Read more
The Local with Matt Biggers
Is this Inspiring or is this a Potato? - Culinary School Over 40, Pt. 5
Perhaps this is your first time here, and in that case, I am Matt Biggers, a 40-something year old with no prior cooking experience attending Culinary School here in Louisville, Kentucky. I burn Pop…
Read more